The Bhagavad-Gita

[For the Disciple–A Guide]

(The material here presented, which was given to me, was originally a course on the Bhagavad-Gita put together by several students.)


  1. Antecedent Words by W. Q. Judge

  2. The Mahabharata–An Allegory and History

  3. Who is Krishna?

  4. Who is Arjuna?

  5. The Sanskrit

  6. The Upanishads and the Vedas

  7. The Psychological System of the Hindus

  8. Stories about Krishna

Introduction by Gandhi

The Bhagavad-Gita


  1. Chapter I–The Despondency of Arjuna

  2. Chapter II–Devotion through Application to the Speculative Doctrines

  3. Chapter III–Devotion through the Right Performance of Action

  4. Chapter IV–Devotion through Spiritual Knowledge

  5. Chapter V–Devotion by means of Renunciation of Action

  6. Chapter VI–Devotion by means of Self-Restraint

  7. Chapter VII–Devotion by means of Spiritual Discernment

  8. Chapter VIII–Devotion to the Omnipresent Spirit named as Om

  9. Chapter IX–Devotion by means of the Kingly Knowledge and the Kingly Mystery

  10. Chapter X–Devotion by means of the Universal Divine Perfections

  11. Chapter XI–Vision of the Divine Form as including All Forms

  12. Chapter XII–Devotion by means of Faith

  13. Chapter XIII–Discrimination of Kshetra from Kshetrajna

  14. Chapter XIV–Separation from the Three Qualities

  15. Chapter XV–Knowledge of the Supreme Spirit

  16. Chapter XVI–Discriminating between Godlike and Demoniacal Natures

  17. Chapter XVII–Devotion as regards the three kinds of Faith

  18. Chapter XVIII–Devotion as regards Renunciation and Final Liberation

to return to